A Walk Through Granville Island Nearly 100 Years Ago

More
granville island

Granville Island is a hub for shopping and entertainment—making it a local favourite and hot spot for tourists.

The City of Vancouver was called Granville up until 1886 when it was renamed. The name was instead given to Granville Street, which spanned the area known as False Creek.

In 1915, the Vancouver Harbour Commission approved a reclamation project for an industrial area in False Creek. It was originally known as Industrial Island, and then changed to Granville Island after the bridge it was underneath.

BC Equipment Ltd. built a wood-framed machine shop near the Island’s western end. To this day that structure houses part of the booming Granville Island Public Market.

Granville Island has completely transformed from being an industrial area to being one of Vancouver’s gems.

Today the Island provides visitors with an extensive marina, the large public market, a boutique hotel, the Emily Carr University of Art and Design and many fine art galleries and shopping boutiques.

Take a look at how Granville Island has evolved over the last 99 years:

image

This photo taken in 1917 depicts a sawmill and shows the beginning of dredging in False Creek and the Granville Bridge, Yaletown and Downtown in the background.

image

This photo taken in 1922 shows Schaake Co. Machinery Company, Pacific Sheet Metal Works and False Creek Dock and Warehouse Company Limited.

image

Taken in 1931, this photo shows how industrial the area was and how it was filled with warehouses.

image

This photo shows the entrance to Granville Island in 1976.

image

This photo was taken underneath the Granville Bridge in 1980.

image

The above photo shows a restaurant patio in 1982.

Here is Granville Island today:

Canada Day Celebrations At Granville Island 2014

SEE ALSO:

 

Images via Vancouver Archives

Log in or create an account to save content