604 Now
Sports

Team Canada Men’s Hockey Schedule For Sochi 2014

Team Canada Men's Hockey Schedule For Sochi 2014

After four long years, Team Canada’s men’s hockey team, who will be sporting red, white, and black jerseys will hit the ice and defend their gold at Sochi 2014. The tournament is scheduled to kick off on Wednesday, February 12th and conclude with the gold medal game on Sunday, February 23rd.

Below is Team Canada’s group for Sochi 2014 and their schedule leading up to the golden game (fingers crossed)

Groups:

  • Group A: Russia, Slovenia, Slovakia, United States
  • Group B: Austria, Canada, Finland, Norway
  • Group C: Czech Republic, Latvia, Switzerland, Sweden

Team Canada Preliminary Round Schedule:

  • Thursday, February 13 vs. Norway @ 21:00 local time (12 pm ET / 9 am PT)
  • Friday, February 14 vs. Austria @ 21:00 local time (12 pm ET / 9 am PT)
  • Sunday, February 16 vs. Finland @ 21:00 local time (12 pm ET / 9 am PT)

Like 2010, each team will play their group opponents once. At the end of each games, teams collect 3 points for a win, 2 points for an overtime win, and 1 point for an overtime loss. The top two teams in each group with the most points will get a bye to the quarter-finals – everyone else has to play a qualification game.

To sum it up, even if the preliminary round doesn’t go too well for Team Canada, they can still make it to the elimination round. In 2010, Canada finished 6th overall and beat Germany to face Russia in the quarter-finals.

Playoffs

  • Qualification Playoff Round – Tuesday, February 18
  • Quarterfinals – Wednesday, February 19
  • Semi-Finals – Friday, February 21

Final Four – Medal Games

  • Bronze Medal Game – Saturday, February 22 @ 19:00 local time (10 am ET / 7 am PT)
  • Gold Medal Game – Sunday, February 23 @ 16:00 local times (7 am ET / 4 am PT)

 

Log in or create an account to save content

Become a local insider