604 Now

Dianne Watts Will Not Seek Re-Election For Surrey’s Mayor. But Who Will?

Surrey Mayor Dianne Watts Will Not Seek Re-Election. But Who Will?

Surrey, British Columbia: The entire Surrey First team extends its heartfelt thanks to Mayor Dianne Watts for nearly two decades of exceptional leadership following her announcement that she will not seek re-election for the Mayor’s seat in November.

“Dianne Watts has been one of the most effective mayors in Canadian history,” says Surrey First colleague and longtime Surrey City Councillor Linda Hepner. “For the past nine years Surrey was blessed with a Mayor who worked tirelessly towards a vision for her community to become one of the most economically stable, culturally strong and livable communities in the country.”

Mayor Watts will continue to work closely with her Surrey First colleagues up until the November election. The team will announce its candidate for Mayor in the coming weeks.

Nearly two weeks ago, Councillor Barinder Rasode announced she was leaving Surrey First and would sit as an Independent on City Council. She also stated that if Dianne Watts doesn’t run for mayor in the upcomining municipal election, she would strongly consider running for mayor.

Mayor Watts was first elected in 1996 as a Surrey City Councillor and was elected Mayor in 2005. She formed Surrey First in 2007. Members of Surrey First are: Councillor Linda Hepner, Councillor Mary Martin, Councillor Barbara Steele, Councillor Judy Villeneuve, Councillor Tom Gill and Councillor Bruce Hayne.


Image via City of Surrey

Log in or create an account to save content

Become a local insider