Nazem Kadri Avoids Suspension For Hit On Daniel Sedin

Vancouver Canucks
Nazem Kadri Avoids Suspension For Hit On Daniel Sedin

The NHL has decided not to suspend Maple Leaf’s forward Nazem Kadri.

This does not take away, however, from the fact that his blindside hit on Vancouver Canucks forward Daniel Sedin was dirty, and a very dangerous hit.

It occurred yesterday during the Toronto Maple Leaf’s 6-3 lopsided win over the struggling Canucks who have now lost eight straight games.

As Sedin scored the Canucks third goal of the game, Kadri collided with Daniel and made clear contact with both Sedin’s shoulder and head.

The NHL’s department of player safety reviewed the play and ultimately felt that the main point of contact was Sedin’s shoulder and not the head.

Jim Benning released a statement once he found out Kadri would not face disciplinary action: “We disagree with the ruling this morning and are very disappointed. However, we must accept it and put it behind us so we can focus on tomorrow’s game.”

Kadri has already been suspended three times in his NHL career and had he been again this time he would have been considered a repeat offender.

Log in or create an account to save content